Sunday, 19 November 2006

King's Seat Grudge Match

19th November 2006
8km, 610m
Excellent 3-way "Grudge Match" between HBT, Westies and Ochils with 44 runners taking part. I'd guess that HBT probably won given that they had 8 runners in the top 10. Westerlands' highest placed runner was David Riach in 12th place.

Actually a higher quality field than your average Maddy Moss race, the route took the same steep start as Maddy Moss before breaking right up the hill and along a ridge to King's Seat. Pretty snowy and wintry above about 500m.

The race was won by Don Naylor, with Al Anthony finishing 2nd. First lady was Claire Ward, with Eilidh Wardlaw finishing 2nd in a spectacular dead-heat finish with Dave Calder that saw Dave using the old sliding headfirst downhill into a stonewall technique to stop himself.
Profile Route The Start The Start Tillicoultry Phil Mowbray Sean McFarlane chased by Tom Barr Ron McCraw David Scott chased by Jon Rathjen Jon Rathjen Claire Ward Rob McQuater Ivor Normand John Donnelly Duncan Baker chased by Mark Roberts Dave Calder chased by Eilidh Wardlaw Jane Robertson Jess Batterham Jason Kaushal Louise Provan Finish Area Finish Area Finish Area Timekeepers - John Stevenson and YP

No comments: